Tour dates 2019

Here’s a list of the dates and places you can see me in 2019.
I hope to see you somewhere along the road.

MARCH
Sunday 3 March: Forest Folk Club, Sling, Gloucestershire.
Friday 15 March: Burton Folk Club, Burton on Trent.

APRIL
Wednesday 17 April: Faversham Folk Club, Faversham.

JUNE
Saturday 8 June: “The Road to Peterloo”, Glossop Labour Club.
Sunday 9 June: “The Road to Peterloo”, Mellor Brook Community Centre.
Tuesday 25 June: Brick Kiln Lunchtime Concerts, Chichester.

JULY
Wednesday 3 July: “The Road to Peterloo” at the Working Class Movement Library, Salford.
12 – 14 July: “Ballads, Broadsides & Bawling Hawkers” at Halsway Manor.
Saturday 20 July: “The Road to Peterloo” at the Music on the Marr Festival, Cumbria.

AUGUST
Thursday 1 August: “The Road to Peterloo” at Manchester Central Library.
Friday 2 August: “The Road to Peterloo” at Stockport Library with Alison Morgan.
4 August: “The Road to Peterloo” at Sidmouth Folk Week.
12 August: “The Road to Peterloo” at Broadstairs Folk Week.
Sunday 18 August: “The Road to Peterloo” at the Irish Cultural Centre, Newcastle upon Tyne.
20 – 21 August: “The Road to Peterloo” at Whitby Folk Week.

SEPTEMBER
Sunday 15 September: “The Road to Peterloo” at Bromley Cross.
New date to be confirmed – September: “The Road to Peterloo” at the Place Theatre, Bedford.

OCTOBER
Wednesday 9 October: “The Road to Peterloo” at Cecil Sharp House, London.
Sunday 13 October: “The Road to Peterloo” at Abbots Langley.
Monday 14 October: Waltham Abbey Folk Club.
Sunday 20 October: “The Road to Peterloo” at Hartlepool Folk Festival.
Thursday 31 October: “The Road to Peterloo” at Huddersfield University, Phipps Hall.

NOVEMBER
Sunday 3 November: “The Road to Peterloo” at the Square Chapel, Halifax.

The Road to Peterloo

2019 is the bicentennial year of the ‘Peterloo Massacre’ in Manchester, and together with Brian Peters and Laura Smyth I’m working on a project entitled ‘The Road to Peterloo’ to bring the importance of this event into the public eye.

‘The Road to Peterloo’ tells the story of one of the most notorious incidents in British labour history – the ‘Peterloo Massacre’ in Manchester in 1819 – through some of the many broadside ballads that were printed around the time of the event.

Brian Peters, Laura Smyth and Pete Coe

Three singers and musicians from North West England – Pete Coe, Brian Peters and Laura Smyth – trace the story from its roots in the poverty and hunger suffered by handloom weavers in the early 19th century. Their songs describe the terrible events of the day itself, when mounted soldiers charged a peaceful crowd demanding votes for all, and killed or injured many men, women and children by their indiscriminate use of sabres, and tell of later political developments inspired by the carnage.

Laura, Brian and Pete present a trove of freshly-discovered material, with ballads sourced from Alison Morgan’s new book on the broadsides of the day, and from their own research, with many set to original tunes. Between them they offer three fine voices and instrumental skills on concertina, melodeon, bouzouki, guitar, cello and banjo, and add to the mix period dance music from the Manchester area. ‘The Road to Peterloo’ will be touring the UK during the bicentennial year 2019.

 Follow developments at https://theroadtopeterloo.com/
where you can find tour dates and venues in 2019.